People and Contact

Contact Us

The Program in Critical Theory at Berkeley includes some of the most influential and critical thinkers of our time. Faculty across the campus known for research and teaching excellence make up our affiliated faculty and community. 


The Program in Critical Theory
University of California
440 Stephens Hall, MC 2340
Berkeley, CA 94720

Poulomi Saha, Chair & co-Director

Name Job title Department Role
Elizabeth Abel Professor and John F. Hotchkis Chair in English English Faculty
Charles Altieri Professor Emeritus; Former Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair English Faculty
Nicholas Baer Assistant Professor German Faculty
Rakesh Bhandari Lecturer; 2022 Acting Director, Interdisciplinary Studies Field Interdisciplinary Studies Faculty
C. D. Blanton Associate Professor English Faculty
Natalia Brizuela Associate Professor; Class of 1930 Chair, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies Spanish and Portuguese, Film & Media Studies Faculty
Wendy Brown Professor Emerita Political Science Faculty
Michael Burawoy Professor Emeritus Sociology Faculty
William Burton Assistant Professor French Faculty
Judith Butler Distinguished Professor, Graduate School; Former Maxine Elliot Professor Comparative Literature Faculty
Anthony Cascardi Sidney and Margaret Ancker Distinguished Professor Comparative Literature, Rhetoric, Spanish Faculty
Sharad Chari Associate Professor, Geography; Critical Theory Co-Director; Critical Theory Advisor Department of Geography Faculty, Leadership
Lawrence Cohen Professor Anthropology, South and Southeast Asian Studies Faculty
Stephen Collier Professor City and Regional Planning Faculty
Marianne Constable Professor Rhetoric Faculty
Raúl Coronado Associate Professor Ethnic Studies Faculty
Whitney Davis Professor History of Art Faculty
Ivonne Del Valle Associate Professor Spanish and Portuguese Faculty
Mary Ann Doane Class of 1937 Professor of Film & Media Film & Media Studies Faculty
Patty Dunlap Student Affairs Manager Critical Theory and Center for Interdisciplinary Critical Inquiry Staff
Samera Esmeir Associate Professor Rhetoric Faculty
Karen Feldman Professor; Chair, Department of German German Faculty
Keith Feldman Associate Professor; Chair, Department of Ethnic Studies Ethnic Studies Faculty
Catherine Flynn Associate Professor; Director, Irish Studies; Director, Berkeley Connect English Faculty
Anne-Lise François Associate Professor English, Comparative Literature Faculty
Daena Funahashi Assistant Professor Anthropology Faculty
Amanda Goldstein Associate Professor English Faculty
Marcial González Professor Emeritus English Faculty
David Singh Grewal Professor UC Berkeley School of Law Faculty
Suzanne Guerlac Distinguished Professor Emerita French Faculty
Jocelyne Guibault Professor Music Faculty
Deniz Göktürk Professor German, Film & Media Studies Faculty
Gillian Hart Professor Emerita Geography Faculty
Charles Hirschkind Professor Anthropology Faculty
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffman Associate Professor History Faculty
Seth Holmes Chancellor's Professor of Environmental Science, Policy and Management and Medical Anthropology Anthropology, Environmental Science, Policy and Management Faculty
Shannon Jackson Cyrus and Michelle Hadidi Professor; Chair, Department of History of Art History of Art, Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies, Rhetoric Faculty
Abdul JanMohamed Professor Emeritus English Faculty
Victoria Jaschob Department Manager Center for Interdisciplinary Critical Inquiry Staff
Martin Jay Ehrman Professor of European History Emeritus History Faculty
Donna Jones Associate Professor English Faculty
Anton Kaes Class of 1939 Professor of German and Film & Media German, Film & Media Studies Faculty
Robert Kaufman Associate Professor Faculty
Celeste Langan Associate Professor English Faculty
Niklaus Largier Professor German, Comparative Literature Faculty
Grace Lavery Associate Professor English Faculty
Zeus Leonardo Professor Berkeley School of Education Faculty
Michael Lucey Sidney and Margaret Ancker Professor of Comparative Literature and French Comparative Literature, French Faculty
Colleen Lye Associate Professor English Faculty
Saba Mahmood, In Memoriam Professor Emerita Anthropology Faculty