News Archive: 2019


The Program in Critical Theory is delighted to welcome twenty-one new students to the Designated Emphasis in Critical Theory. The new cohort includes graduate students from ten departments in the social sciences, humanities, and professional schools. These new admits, which bring the total number of Critical Theory DE students to approximately 125 (the largest such program at Berkeley), are:

  • Alejandra Rotondo, Anthropology
  • Alli Appelbaum, City and Regional Planning
  • Caroline Durlacher, German
  • Catherine Sulpizio, English
  • David Lau, Rhetoric
  • Gustavo Capela, Anthropology
  • John James, English
  • Joseph Serrano, English
  • Joshua Gregory, Social Welfare
  • Kyra Sutton, Rhetoric
  • Lindsay Choi, English
  • Mariagrazia De Luca, Italian Studies
  • Mehak Khan, English
  • Michele D’Aurizio, History of Art
  • Patrick Delehanty, English
  • Pê Feijó, Rhetoric
  • Robert Stahl, Anthropology
  • Sarah Hastings-Rudolph, French
  • Scott Cowan, Philosophy
  • Tulasi Johnson, History
  • Yael Plitmann, Jurisprudence and Social Policy

Congratulations, all!

CT Faculty Announce Fall 2019 Courses

CT faculty will be teaching seven Fall 2019 courses that count towards the Designated Emphasis in Critical Theory. These courses reflect the interdisciplinary breadth of the Program, with core and elective options in Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film, French, German, Education, and Spanish & Portuguese.

For more information on fall courses and the curricular requirements of the Designated Emphasis in Critical Theory, please visit our Courses page.

Fall 2019 Critical Theory Courses: CORE

  • Frankfurt School, New York School: Critical Aesthetics & Modern Poetry | Comparative Literature | Robert Kaufman
  • Freud and Lacan | Film | Mary Ann Doane
  • Critical Ethnic Studies without Guarantees: Thinking with Stuart Hall | Ethnic Studies | Keith Feldman

Fall 2019 Critical Theory Courses: ELECTIVE

  • Post-War Materialisms and the Concrete | Spanish & Portuguese | Nathaniel Wolfson
  • Image and Power | German | Tony Kaes
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature – The Nineteenth Century and ways of reading: Literature, social history, hermenueutics | French | Michael Lucey
  • Proseminar: Sociocultural Critiques of Education | Education | Zeus Leonardo


The Critical Theory Dissertation Fellowship is awarded to Critical Theory Designated Emphasis (DE) graduate students with records of achievement and promising dissertation projects. The fellowship supports students writing their dissertations with up to $18,000 toward fees and stipend for a single semester of support.

Applications for the 2019-2020 Critical Theory Dissertation Fellowship are due Friday, April 12, 2019, by 4 pm. Eligible students must be enrolled in the Critical Theory DE and not receive significant (non-teaching) financial support from their home departments during the period of the award. Applicants must have completed their Qualifying Exams and have an approved dissertation prospectus.

Application Guidelines

Applicants must submit a cover letter, a 2-3 page abstract of the dissertation, an academic CV, and a letter from the dissertation adviser evaluating the project’s promise. Applicants planning on having the prospectus approved by the end of May 2017 should explain this in the application cover letter and should have the dissertation director, in his or her letter, evaluate the draft or proposed prospectus and the likelihood of its approval.

The committee will have the option of splitting the award in order to support more students.  In view of this possibility, applicants should specify in the cover letter whether they would prefer to have the award in the fall or spring semester.

Completed applications, including all supporting materials, must be received by Friday, April 12, 2019, at 4 pm.

Please submit applications to

Deadline for applications: April 12, 2019, by 4 pm
Award Announced: May 2019
Award Period: July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020
Award Amount: Varies according to applicant pool and funds available.

The Dissertation Fellowship is open to Critical Theory students in UC Berkeley Departments including Anthropology, Boalt Law School, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages and Cultures, English, Ethnic Studies, Film & Media, French, Gender & Women’s Studies, German, Geography, History, History of Art, Italian, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Rhetoric, School of Education, School of Public Health, Sociology, South & Southeast Asian Studies, Spanish & Portuguese, and Theater, Dance and Performance Studies.